top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Soto

The Grove Duet

The Mute and the Menace (The Grove #1)



Lost in the Silence (The Grove #2)




This review for both books of the Grove series. Cara and Jackson have known each other since teenagers growing up in the same trailer park. As Cara's first love and Jackson's best friend dies, it brings them to a night together that will set their relationship forward. Once she becomes pregnant they go through battle of what to do with the baby. Jackson wants the baby but Cara knowing they are teenagers with no job, no family to help, wants the baby to have a better life and wants to explore adoption. This duet was devastating but amazing. The life Jackson had to grow up with. The abuse he endured his whole childhood by the hands of his father. The scars he'll carry on him for the rest of his life. Cara as well grew up with abuse from her step dad. Going into book 2 they have to recover from their fatal attack by Jackson's dad. Him having to learn to live being paralyzed and having to depend on others to help him. This was an amazing duet. Make sure to first start with grove high school book 1. Cara and Jackson's love wasn't easy. The abuse of the past, moving on together without Logan, their son Wesley, new lifestyle of Jackson being paralyzed. Their love though conquered and they came out better. I recommend this series if you love the alpha men, sassy and feisty heroines who don't take their crap. This was a brand new author to me, but I will now be reading every book she writes!


The Mute and the Menace description

Cara When I saw those two lines on the stick, I thought my life was over. Pregnant. Not just by anyone, but by the man I loathe. Jackson. The Mute. I loved the baby more than my next breath, but I couldn’t keep it. My life has always been vicious tilt-a-whirl of hardship, and I had nothing to offer. Then disaster strikes, and clarity hits. I want this baby. Only it might be too late. Jackson My life turned on its axis when I knocked a girl up. Not just any girl, but my best friend’s girl. The best friend who bled out in front of me and whispered his love for her with his last breath. I didn’t want it. I didn’t want any of it. Until I did. My life hasn’t been easy. It’s always been a struggle to survive. But I’ll fight until my last breath if it means getting what I want. I’m just not sure if that’s enough. The Mute and the Menace is a new series connected to the Grove High series. It is highly recommended that you start with Reapers and Roses. Trigger warning** This book contains strong subject matter that may be uncomfortable for some viewers


Lost in the Silence description

Cara A monster tore our lives apart. Left us in ruins. I didn’t think I would survive. None of us should have survived. Life as I knew would never be the same, but I had no choice but to embrace it. Failing isn’t an option when it comes to those I love. Until I realize there’s a bigger monster lurking in the shadows, ready to tear our happiness and livelihoods into pieces. I’m plunged into darkness, a living nightmare I can’t escape from. I survived the first monster with permanent scars that are embedded into my soul. What will this monster leave me with? Maybe I won’t survive at all. Jackson She shines like a bright light in my dark life. She pleads with me to live. To fight through the chaos that I’m drowning in. I’m lost in my own silence. But piece by piece, she drags me out. She breathes air into my lungs as I slowly come back to life. Until I blink, and she’s gone. It’s then that I realize, it’s not the air in my lungs that I need to live. It’s her. Trigger warning: This book includes topics including abuse, violence, sexual abuse, drug use, and illegal activity

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page