top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Soto

Live Again (Bridgewater #1)

Live Again (Bridgewater #1)





Where does one begin with this first book in the Bridgewater Series? Well let me tell you, I began with tears. Big tears for at least the first quarter of the book. My heart just completely shattered for Bex and Jack. (As I reach for another Kleenex) just thinking about it again.

I mean to find a love like that in life and have it slowly ripped from you by disease and to watch the digression of the one you loved. Bex for the next few years just existed. The first year for her was horrible, the not going out, she couldn’t sleep in her bedroom any longer, and was attached to the couch and not showering.


The quote in the book where she was talking to Maya:

“The truth is,” I paused trying to control the volume of my voice, “I don’t want to . I don’t want to do any of that. I want to curl up” I pointed to the family room. “On that fucking couch,” I was shouting now, my voice thick with tears, but I couldn’t rein it in, “and wait to fucking die!”


Thankfully, she had Mara, who was a godsend and helped her put one small step in front of the next and helped her, asking her live for her until she could live for herself. She pushed herself outside of her pain and encouraged her to not give up on life.


Years later, when she looked in the mirror and really evaluated her life, she knew she had to start living again, she made a bucket list of the things she wanted to start doing in order to live life again. She met Rhys through a recommendation from Mara and Zale for a contractor.


Rhys being a strong confident man, he was such a patient and strong man for Bex. I loved how he knew what Bex needed and at the time she needed it. He never pushed her, until she was ready to give herself over to him.


The chemistry between them was sizzling hot. Their love and them being able to get a second chance at a second true love was so heart warming for me. Bex was scared at first at the possibility of having to experience loss again. I am glad she seeked helped and was able to find her way back to Rhys.


I devoured this story. I loved the realness of it. The romance between a couple who weren’t in their 20s, and showing that love can come again even after a tragic loss. That there is still life to live, even though the thought is scary to do it by yourself. I loved the elements of the chronic disease, because lets be real after your 30s (well for me who also has a chronic condition) you wake up feeling like crap a lot. I just loved this story. It had a HEA which I love, but has the realness of life and the difficulties that you encounter, but it brings you hope that you will find your way through.


Description

Forty-two year old Rebecca Cleaver has lost her fire. Actually, she lost it seven years ago, the moment she lost her husband Jack. After his death, her grief, combined with deteriorating mental and physical health, led her to shrink her world down to dimensions that can only be described as pocket-sized.


Now, Rebecca is starting to wake up to the world around her, realizing she's been living little more than a half-life. She decides to kick off her new life with a mini bucket list to get her up off her couch, a list that leads her to Rhys.


Rhys, the first man to light her fire since Jack, he thrills her and terrifies her in equal measure. Rhys is just as enthralled with Rebecca, and keen to be an integral part of the changes she's making.


Unfortunately for Rhys, meeting a man is not on her bucket list. Fortunately for Rebecca, he's good at editing. The question that remains is whether Rebecca is willing to risk loving, and losing, again.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page